Makin a (BIG) Change.

So in the past week I have decided to actually take my transition to natural hair seriously and because of this I am going to try to blog regularly about my hair journey.

I have been “transitioning” for about two and a half years, which is the last time I had a relaxer. About a year ago however my mom convinced me to get a keratin treatment, another chemical process altering the state/texture of my hair i.e. not natural. Since the keratin treatment I have kept my hair straight about 75% of the time but last week I made the promise to myself to give going natural a real chance. I am not doing a BC (big chop) as in cutting off all of my treated hair but I have cut off about 4/5 inches in the last 6 months. I am going to a natural hair salon this weekend to cut a little more.

I got rid of all of my old hair care products with sulfates and mineral oils and bought a couple of natural hair and sulfate free products including Kinky-Curly Come Clean Shampoo , Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie, and jojoba oil (all of which I love so far, but I’m still a rookie so well see).

I have been doing so much research it is ridiculous. Transitioning to my natural hair is going to be so challenging for me, especially because I have been chemically treating my hair since I was 5 years old (not my choice). I know that I am going to have to have a lot of patience for this but I am really excited for this journey I have begun with myself. At the very base of my roots I can see the completely different texture of my hair in comparison to my treated heat damaged hair. Even though it’s only been a week I feel so much more in tune with myself. It’s like I am discovering a completely new part of me (cheesy but true) and I’m so excited constantly discover more. I feel that my confidence in my beauty has grown already knowing that my hair will be completely natural and all mine at the end of this transition. That makes me feel powerful. I am empowered.

~afroREBELista

2 thoughts on “Makin a (BIG) Change.

  1. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am inspired! Extremely useful information specially the last section 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

Thoughts?

