TW: Another young woman raped in Seoul

This infuriating story came up on my FB timeline not too long ago. Whether you are in your home-country, traveling abroad, or living abroad it is important to ALWAYS be aware and ALWAYS be smart. We live in a global misogynistic culture that tells men that women’s bodies are here for their amusement.It’s disgusting.  

As a woman that travels by herself I am constantly aware of my surroundings. In the U.S., I also almost always have some sort of weapon (pepper spray and/or knife) on me. If you go out and party, know your limits and don’t pass them. If you are with a friend, it isn’t a good idea to leave them by themselves, especially if you’ve both been drinking heavily. It is exhausting to be in a constant state of caution. We can’t help everything that happens to us but we can try as much as we can to minimize the danger we put ourselves in. This is such an important issue around the world. 

deathtoclones:

Since my attack over a year ago, I’ve come into contact with a number of young women who are survivors and have been brave enough to go public with their stories. These women have gone through hell and back. But more than that, these women are fighters. And they aren’t going down without getting a few punches in. 

The following was written by a young woman that I had the privilege of meeting this weekend. I was introduced to her by a mutual friend who knew that I could give this person a better idea of what the legal process will be like as her case proceeds in the courts. She wanted to get her story out to as many people as possible, but has deleted her own blog for her personal safety. The men who attacked her have already begun the horrific process of badgering her, continually asking her to meet so they can apologize. I offered to post her story here on mine, since I know many of you out there gave me tons of support when I went through my own hell a year ago. And this lady needs our support. 

A fair warning, this story is hard to read, so if you trigger easily, do not proceed forward. It is a story about rape. But I will let her tell you in her own words. 

~~~~~~~~~~~

One month ago I was raped by five men in a noraebang, located on a popular street in Gangnam.

I’m a 23-year-old American woman; I’ve lived in Korea for 7 months. It was my first Saturday night out in ages. I’d decided to take a well-deserved break from my busy life and just spend a night with friends, dancing and singing. My female neighbor and I set off for Seoul, ready to enjoy the evening.

Read More

Thoughts?

