Things That Confuse And/Or Bother The Crap Out of Me In Korea – #1

So, I’ve decided to start posting small lists of things that confuse and bother the crap out of me in Korea, hence the title of this post. Every time I realize or discover a new annoyance here in South Korea I will add it to the list, posting with the same title and the next consecutive number. 

#1 Smacking and Slurping

 I have always had a huge problem with the sounds people make when eating (ask my mom). Like many of you I’m sure, I have been taught from an early age not slurp my spaghetti or hot chocolate and not to chew like I can’t breathe through my nose. I remember being told when I did the latter, “are you a cow? Then stop chewing like one.” I now say this to my family and friends who commit this cringe worthy act, but it is different here in South Korea. 

Here in the land of Samsung, slurping lips and smacking jaws are commonplace. In food courts and restaurants these gross sounds can be heard everywhere! I used to literally twitch when I came in close proximity to these noises. Now, because of my human survival and self-preservation instincts, I think I’ve grown accustomed to the smacking and slurping. Every once in a while though, when I least expect it, it happens and I remember how much I love peace and quiet.

Thoughts?

